Intercultural understanding

hands

I go to Nepal to give, but I don’t know if I have anything that the women and midwives of Nepal need or want.

I believe in myself. I believe in my skills as a midwife. But I am aware of the need to go humbly.

I go to Nepal to receive. I have no idea what….. An exciting mystery.

Aid and NGOs are all tied up with our histories of colonialism, expoitation and hubris. I am aware (and I thank Jennie Joseph for her input on this topic). I believe that “help” is a minefield. But I know that cultures can learn from each other and I trust that it will be a wild and thrilling journey.

Leave a Reply

