Out of the dust towards the sky and back again

Today and the next few days are different. I was just beginning to feel a sense of routine….then…..

To explain: Hannah B was in the grade above me in High School 40 years ago. She moved to Israel about when I did and we have a mutual friend (one of my closest friends in Israel). So, she discovered that I would be in Kathmandu and she is visiting tomorrow, alone, and looking for someone to go into the mountains with her. As I am alone, it seemed like an opportunity not to forgo even though it is a little early in my trip to take off. So tomorrow I will go to the foothills at Nagarkot, take a deep breath of Himalayas and walk down to the temple town of Bakhtapur with Hannah, before going back to some birth center work on thursday.

Today I went to a birth center health post in the hills at Pharping about 1 1/2 hours from Kathmandu. It was great to escape the dust and hurtle around some hairpin bends to the beauty and quiet of this center, where Kamila, the midwife, gave another Tikka welcome and showed us around. (I was with Trudy and Amanda, UK midwives who are going home in a few days time)

Lots of photos today, the birth center is very photogenic. Being rural, it has a very different feel from APS. In some ways it is well equipped. They have a microscope! In others, strangely lacking. They have no ambubag for infant resuscitation. Such a simple, essential item. If only I had known!

On the way: pond at Taudaha home to the nagas (serpent deity)

On the way: pond at Taudaha home to the nagas (serpent deity)

Pretty garden in front of birth center at Phoping

Another Tikka welcome

Kamala, the midwife at Phoping, with her birth log

Kamala, the midwife at Phoping, with her birth log

Community health workers here to be trained by Kamila

Community health workers here to be trained by Kamila

IMG_0202

Beautiful Birth center garden Beautiful Birth center garden

View from the birth center

View from the birth center

IMG_0201

Just a few hours getting a feel for the center and drinking tea, and then back to the city.

Here arae some picks I took this afternoon all yards from my guest house. Photogenic every direction

Door to an ordinary house on my street

Door to an ordinary house on my street

Drying herbs from the window

Drying herbs from the window

IMG_0210

IMG_0211

IMG_0213

IMG_0214

IMG_0215

IMG_0216

IMG_0217

IMG_0218

mini temple near guest house. See rat god!

my local temple

IMG_0220

IMG_0221

mini rat temple in situ in front of veggie shop

mini rat temple in situ in front of veggie shop

The stray dogs look dead. they are not

The stray dogs look dead. they are not

IMG_0225

My guest house. Balcony to right, is mine ($15 per night including enormous breakfast)

My guest house. Balcony to right, is mine ($15 per night including enormous breakfast)

Leave a Reply

