That’s the way it is in Nepal

I drew back the curtains one morning last week, and the air was clear. The mountains rose behind the houses. And there behind them… were the real mountains, the snow-capped Himalayas right outside my window. They had been hidden every other day by smoggy haze. Hooray, a clear sharp view of snowy peaks puts the smile on any morning face.

So through the city to the birth center. All is well. Things are happening despite glacial slowness. Why use one person to do something when 3 will do? Decide to go to buy the flooring for the birth room at last but wait there is a phone call then someone comes round with an important piece of paper to sign which involves much thinking and rereading and then of course there is another cup of tea and finally off on the errand we go. That’s the way it is. The task of getting the brochure printed is mammoth. Misunderstandiings about who is doing what and how it should be done… days pass. Leisurely dysfunction.

The story of Ratna sadly exemplifies the way it is in Nepal. She is a nurse with a few months’ midwifery training like most of the staff at the center. She wants to study more and finish her Bachelors in Nursing. Last week she told me that her grades weren’t good enough and she was on the waiting list. I commiserated. Today Rashmi told me the full story. Most applicants are wait-listed she said. Those that are accepted from the list are those who pay. Ratna can’t pay. Rashmi tried to use her influence, without paying, a little string-pulling but to no avail. No pay no place.

On a more hopeful note, I think I have found someone who will “champion” the non-pneumatic anti-shock garment in Nepal. It will need a champion to push its use, spread the word, inform, instruct, and cajole. Asa works part time at APS as well as full time at the big public hospital. She told me that she became a midwife because of her mother. Her mother died at the age of 33 of a postpartum hemorrhage. We weren’t talking about the anti-shock garment when she told me about her mother. We have not talked much. I am not sure why she told me about her mother. It was emotional and hard to talk about. Strange that she told me. Then I told her about the anti-shock garment. The anti-shock garment impressed her. She knows it will saves mothers’ lives.

And I want to tell all you deviners out there, Nepal is a place where it is apparently impossible to lose things because someone will find it for you. From my little flashlight which I left in a crowded restaurant and was returned to me 3 days later, to my camera which I lost at the Boudenath stupa and was returned to me by a delightful Nepali child. And a bag of precious goodies I had bought were carefully rescued for me by a guard at the Golden Temple in Patan.

And some pictures:

Beautiful Boudenath where I lost my camera

Beautiful Boudenath where I lost my camera

more Boudenath

more Boudenath

prayer wheels at Boudenath

prayer wheels at Boudenath

she found my camera!

she found my camera!

Happy at the Golden Temple. Have'nt lost my bag yet

Happy at the Golden Temple. Have’nt lost my bag yet

the fabulous Golden Temple

the fabulous Golden Temple

on a wall at the Golden Temple

on a wall at the Golden Temple

Sumitra learnt to apply the anti-shock garment

Sumitra learnt to apply the anti-shock garment

Ratna and Amala measure the floor of the birth room for the new lino

Ratna and Amala measure the floor of the birth room for the new lino

delightfully round faced baby

delightfully round faced baby

The birth center makes angelic babies

The birth center makes angelic babies

Three hours old

Three hours old

6 comments on “That’s the way it is in Nepal

  1. daniel says:

    Looks fun. Stop losing stuff!

  2. dinahw says:

    But the stuff is magically found. Nothing is lost in Nepal

  3. Andrew says:

    Do you have any idea of how they generate the magic to find you apart from being honest? “Look for a visiting midwife with a British accent? ” Really interesting. Also, I flunked the FTP test (whatever that is) to sign up for comment notification. I need a nerd.

  4. Sara Dibb says:

    Hey D
    Love those Nepalese babies! Mum says you’re trekking! Hope you have had a fabulous time. You deserve it!
    I know it’s a while away but could you let me have your flight arrival and departure times plus airlines so I can be sure to be there to pick you up this time and I think mum wants to deliver you back to the airport
    XXXXXXX S

Leave a Reply

